Setting Goals

Setting goals, I should say setting realistic goals.  What are my realistic goals?  I want to be fit, lean, strong and happy!  I don’t believe that is too much.  I do not want to be a body builder or be super skinny.  I don’t want to win any contests or even run a marathon.  In the Navy, I am required to run a mile and half in designated amount of time.  I can make that run and complete it in the amount of time that I am allotted.   My issue is that I am always the last one from the Des Moines Navy Reserve Center to complete the run.  I really do not like that everyone has to wait on me to finish.  It is humiliating to be so slow.  There is no pain or even any soreness afterwards.  I am just really slow.  I have run several 5k’s, 10k’s, 20k’s and a half marathon.  I am very proud that I have been able to complete each of these, yet as one of my many goals, I want to be able to finish a mile and half in 13:00 minutes.  I would really like to finish a 5k in 30:00 minutes.  I know that is really high expectations of myself, but think if I put my mind to it and really work hard I might be able to accomplish it.  I believe what works for me would be to jog more.  I think that the more I run the comfortable I will be and my pace will increase.  I whole heartily believe that it is a state of mind.

My second realistic goal is to get stronger.  This does not mean I want to be labeled as a bodybuilder per say and I do not want to win any competitions.  I want to be able to work a good day in my yard cleaning up the timber and straightening up the acreage  without being sore for days afterward.  I want to feel stronger.  I have started this process and I realize that it is going to take time and patience to build a base.  I have arthritis; I am getting older and I want to try to make it to where I can continue to do the things I enjoy doing like kayaking and hiking.  My goal of getting stronger will help me to continue doing the things I love to do in my free time.  I also love to lift weights.  I always feel better after lifting weights.  How will I accomplish this goal?  I am already making my self make the time to lift 4 days a week.  I am already noticing a difference.  I just have to stick with it and get a plan that works for me and change it up every month to keep it fresh.

Another goal for me is to eat right and portion control.  I am really, really bad about eating at all different times of the day and night with no set schedule.  I have been doing a great job of starting food in the smoker, pressure cooker or crockpot so that food will be ready when my husband gets home from work.  I do not follow through with making myself something.  I have never been good at eating breakfast, yet I am determined to make a mental challenge for myself  to make sure I eat something good for breakfast.  I am also going to push myself to try to eat several small healthy meals throughout the day.  I am not doing anything close to that now.  I get bored, I eat!  I need to get much better about having healthy snack food available.

Finally, my last and most important goal for myself this year…

I am going to work at being happy!  I have struggled for years with depression, anxiety, low self esteem, and I always try to please everyone.  This goal will be hardest of all my goals to accomplish.  I have started in the right direction in working at the Y.

 

 

Leave a Reply

